The blacksmiths made all manner of household and farming tools

History

Welcome

The Smithy, a Grade II listed building, dates back to the 17th century, when it was a Drovers Inn known as The Bulls Head. Stone mullion windows, from this time, still remain.

 

By the 18th century the house was known as The Old Bulls Head and had become a farm. In the 1871 census, John Naylor is listed as a blacksmith, living and working in one of The Old Bulls Head cottages.

By 1920 The Smithy was established as a farm and blacksmiths in the name of Anthony Watson, who purchased Smithy Farm from the Duke of Rutland. The Watson family were blacksmiths here for more than 50 years, building a well deserved reputation for their skill and craftsmanship in undertaking unusual and complex work. Customers came from far afield until the last blacksmith retired in the 1970's.

 

Experience the fascinating history of the Smithy

Please click on an image below to see a larger version.

The Smithy history 01The Smithy history 02The Smithy history 03The Smithy history 04

The Smithy history 05The Smithy history 06The Smithy history 07The Smithy history 08

 

The Smithy was a thriving business playing a vital role in the community. The blacksmith was versatile, working as a farrier shoeing horses as well as making all manner of household and farming tools.

The anvil was the centre of activity, weighing more than 2 cwt.and set on a great section of oak. The huge circular and pear shaped bellows generated the intense heat needed for the forge. The smith and his assistant worked side by side, often watched by the local children, entranced by the heat and sparks from the forge, and hammer blows, as the smithy went about his business.